Artist Founders of the Hunterdon Art Museum
May 18–September 7, 2014
Explore the works of three artists and innovators—Anne and James Marsh, and Katherine Trubek—who were driving forces in converting a stone mill on the banks of the south branch of the Raritan River into what would become a center for contemporary art, craft and design.
Anne Steele Marsh (1901-1995) painted with oils and watercolors, and her bold strokes and vivid colors could depict stillness or action. She also worked with wood engravings, and this exhibition includes Manhole, which stands out for its commanding strength and Carnegie Hall, noted for its detailed delicacy.
Works by Marsh can be found in the Metropolitan Museum of Art, MOMA, the New York Public Library and the Brooklyn, New Jersey State, Montclair and Newark museums, among others. She was the daughter of Frederic Dorr Steele, a prominent illustrator best known for his illustrations of the Sherlock Holmes stories.
James Marsh (1896-1965), who served as the first board president of the Hunterdon County Art Center (later renamed the Hunterdon Art Museum), created beautiful and elaborate pieces of wrought iron to be used as towering decorative gates for estates to simple wall sconces for churches. For years, he ran James R. Marsh & Company, which manufactured the gates to Sarah Lawrence College. He is the son of artist/muralist Frederick Dana Marsh and the brother of noted painter Reginald Marsh.
Katherine Bell Trubek’s (1904-1991) work was influenced by the still life paintings of the 20th century Italian master Giorgio Morandi. Trubek’s work captures Morandi’s quiet elegance, but her carefully placed arrangements are more open and her colors less muted. Among the roughly 15 still life paintings included in this exhibition is Homage to Sergio de Campos Mello and Toshiko Takaezu, which pays homage to the work of the Brazilian painter and Japanese ceramicist.