Project Description

Young Artists Showcase

January 13 -- June 3, 2018

IMG_4118

The Young Artists Showcase is one of the Hunterdon Art Museum’s longest running programs, having started more than 25 years ago. The showcase has encouraged many students to enjoy the arts throughout their adult lives; some have even gone on to pursue professional careers in the arts.

Each year, the Museum invites elementary, middle and high schools throughout Hunterdon County to participate in a series of exhibitions of outstanding student work. From January through June, art teachers from each school select the work that will hang in our gallery. Every two weeks the shows change and we invite the students, families and their friends to an opening reception to honor the students and teachers.

This program is made possible by a gift in memory of Berda Rittenhouse, an art educator and Hunterdon Art Museum trustee. Our new hanging system was partially paid for by Telecom Pioneers Chapter 99 and Ms. Jacqueline Gunn which has allowed for the artwork to be showcased. This program is also made possible by funds from the Hunterdon County Cultural & Heritage Commission.

Refreshments for opening reception refreshments are graciously donated by ShopRite of Clinton, who have supported our program for many years. We also would like to thank our volunteers who assist every other week with installing the artwork and helping out at the opening receptions.

Young Artists Showcase Schedule

Exhibition Start Date: Thursday, Jan. 11;

Opening Reception Date: Saturday, Jan. 13; 2 — 3 p.m.

Exhibition Closing Date: Sunday, Jan. 21

Schools: Frances Desmares School, Copper Hill School, Barley Sheaf School

 

Exhibition Start Date: Tuesday, Jan. 23

Opening Reception Date: Saturday, Jan. 27; 3 — 4 p.m.

Exhibition Closing Date: Sunday, Feb. 4

Schools: Lester D. Wilson School, Alexandria Middle School, Lebanon Borough School

 

Exhibition Start Date: Tuesday, Feb. 6

Opening Reception Date: Saturday, Feb. 10; 3 — 4 p.m.

Exhibition Closing Date: Sunday, Feb. 18

Schools: Kingwood Township School, High Bridge Elementary School, High Bridge Middle School

 

Exhibition Start Date: Tuesday, Feb. 20

Opening Reception Date: Saturday, Feb. 24; 3 — 4 p.m.

Exhibition Closing Date: Sunday, March 4

Schools: Woodglen Middle School, Valley View School, East Amwell School

 

Exhibition Start Date: Tuesday, March 6

Opening Reception Date: Saturday, March 10; 3 — 4 p.m.

Exhibition Closing Date: Sunday, March 18

Schools: Spruce Run School, Round Valley School, Clinton Township Middle School

 

Exhibition Start Date: Tuesday, March 20

Opening Reception Date: Saturday, March 24; 3 — 4 p.m.

Exhibition Closing Date: Sunday, April 1

Schools: Immaculate Conception School, Franklin Twp. School, Milford Public School

 

Exhibition Start Date: Tuesday, April 3

Opening Reception Date: Saturday, April 7; 3 — 4 p.m.

Exhibition Closing Date: Sunday, April 15

Schools: Readington Middle School, Reading-Fleming Intermediate School, J.P. Case Middle School

 

Exhibition Start Date: Tuesday, April 17

Opening Reception Date: Saturday, April 21; 3 — 4 p.m.

Exhibition Closing Date: Sunday, April 29

Schools: Clinton Public School, Bonnie Brae School, Hunterdon Poly Tech

 

Exhibition Start Date: Tuesday, May 1

Opening Reception Date: Saturday, May 5; 3 — 4 p.m.

Exhibition Closing Date: Sunday, May 13

Schools: Hunterdon Central High School, North Hunterdon High School, Thomas B. Conley School

 

Exhibition Start Date: Tuesday, May 15

Opening Reception Date: Saturday, May 19; 3 — 4 p.m.

Exhibition Closing Date: Sunday, June 3

Schools: Voorhees High School, Union Township Middle School, Whitehouse & Three Bridges Elementary Schools

IMG_4120